Asia Cup Winner 2023: India or Sri Lanka? Who is likely to win the Match?

One of the most well-known cricket tournaments in Asia is the Asia Cup. The International Cricket Council (ICC) holds the Asia Cup every two years. Dates for the 2023 Asia Cup are August 30th through September 17th, 2023. 16th teams or nations took part in the 2023 Asia Cup this year. India won the inaugural Asia Cup, which was held in the United Arab Emirates in 1984. Sri Lanka finished in second place. On September 17, 2023, Sunday, the Asia Cup 2023 Final will be played between India and Sri Lanka, and waiting for the Asia Cup Winner 2023.

Asia Cup Winner 2023

In a super four match on Thursday, Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by two wickets using the DLS technique to advance to the final Asia Cup Winner 2023. After rain forced the match to be played over 42 overs each side, Mohammad Rizwan (86 not out) and Iftikhar Ahmed (47) set up a 108-run partnership to lead Pakistan to a dominant 252 for 7. However, Sri Lanka overcame the goal in 42 overs thanks in large part to a courageous batting performance by Kusal Mendis (91) and Charith Asalanka (49 not out). 

On Sunday, the championship game features Sri Lanka vs. India and we are waiting for Asia Cup Winner 2023. Earlier, after deciding to bat in the vital match, opener Abdullah Shafique (52 off 69 balls) and captain Babar Azam (29) formed a 64-run partnership. But Rizwan and Iftikhar gave Pakistan its last flourish, pushing it over the 250-run threshold. Young pacer Matheesha Pathirana (3/64) was Sri Lanka’s most effective bowler.

Asia Cup Winners List From 1984 To 2023

The six-nation cricket competition known as the Asia Cup 2023 will take place in Pakistan and Sri Lanka from August 30 to September 17, 2023. The opening match will take place on August 30, 2023, between Pakistan and Nepal at Multan, Pakistan, while the last match will take place on September 17, 2023. The list of Asia Cup winners from 1984 until 2023 is shown in tabular format below. The winning team, runner-up team, and host nation are all included in the Asia Cup Winners List table.

Year Winner Runner-up Hosting Country
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1991 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh UAE
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan UAE
2023  Update soon Update soon Update soon
WhatsApp Channel Join Button

India has won the Asia Cup the most times (7 championships as of 2023). Pakistan has won the competition twice, while Sri Lanka, with six championships, is the second-most successful team. Hong Kong, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan have not yet claimed the Asia Cup.

Asia Cup Winner 2023

Most Asia Cup Winners (Country-wise)

Out of the tournament’s 15 iterations, India has been victorious seven times, followed by Sri Lanka with six and Pakistan with two victories. Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal are the only nations left without a victory on the Asia Cup winners’ list. Below is a list of every nation that has ever won the Asia Cup.

  • India: 7
  • Sri Lanka: 6
  • Pakistan: 2
  • Bangladesh: 0
  • Afghanistan: 0
  • Nepal: 0
  • Hong Kong:0

Team India has had the greatest success in the Asia Cup, taking home the trophy seven times in total in the competition’s fifteen previous iterations. Sri Lanka comes in second place with six wins, while Pakistan has won the title twice. Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong are the three nations that are still without an Asia Cup triumph.

All about the Asia Cup 2023

The Asia Cup is a special competition that only features nations from one continent, making it the only event of its sort in the whole globe. India has won the Asia Cup seven times, making them the most productive team in the competition’s history.

India has also impressively advanced to the final round 10 times throughout the course of the fifteen finals (despite not competing in one edition). With six Asia Cup titles, Sri Lanka is the team that comes in second place behind India, while Pakistan has won the competition twice. The tournament began with three nations, but over time it increased to six teams, including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan.

3 thoughts on “Asia Cup Winner 2023: India or Sri Lanka? Who is likely to win the Match?”

  1. Going through Asia cup information from 1984 till 2023, I do not see if India as hosting Nation. Bangladesh 6 times, UAE 4 times, Sri Lanka 5 times and Pakistan 1 time as hosting nation. What is the reason behind this?


Leave a Comment